Minimalist Vegan Cooking

Screen Shot 2017-04-18 at 10.31.00

So, I hear minimalism is in. 2017 is the time of capsule wardrobes, decluttering and learning to be content with what you have. Lagom, or ‘just having the right amount’ in Swedish, has become a mantra for many. Does this translate over to vegan cooking?

You bet it does.

Did you ever like those magazine quizzes or ‘choose your own adventure’ books as a child? I know I did. In fact, I liked them so much that I’ve devised my very own minimalist vegan ‘choose your own adventure’. Just don’t take too long choosing or you’ll get hangry.

STEP ONE: Choose your base

  • Potatoes (regular or sweet)
  • Rice
  • Pasta
  • Oats
  • Rice flakes
  • Bread
  • Quinoa
  • Cous cous
  • Freekeh

STEP TWO (Sweet): Add protein 

  • Nuts (Almonds, cashews, walnuts…etc)
  • Seeds (sunflower, poppy..etc)

STEP TWO (Savory): Add protein

  • Beans
  • Peas
  • Lentils
  • Tofu
  • Setian
  • Tempeh
  • Hummus

STEP THREE (Sweet): Add fruit

  • Avocados
  • Apples
  • Pears
  • Bananas
  • Mangos
  • Berries
  • Passionfruit
  • Lychees

…etc

STEP THREE (Savory): Add veg

  • Carrot
  • Broccoli
  • Cauliflower
  • Zucchini
  • Corn

…etc you know the deal.

STEP FOUR (Sweet): Add (extra) flavour

  • Spices (cinnamon, nutmeg…etc)
  • Condiments (eg. jam)
  • Toppings (shredded coconut, cacao nibs…)

STEP FOUR (Savoury): Add (extra) flavour

  • Spices (paprkia, cumin…)
  • Herbs (basil, parsley…)
  • Condiments (teriyaki, tamari or soy sauce, tomato sauce…)

* Note that beyond step one, you don’t have to add every step. As long as you have a good base, a nice mix of different things on your plate and it tastes great!

Over are the days of fruit for breakfast, bread for lunch and veggies for dinner. I know because I wake up and listen to what my body wants, not what everyone tells me I should be having. I also don’t follow recipes, because if I do 9 times out of 10 I burn something. So, for me it’s all about simplicity. Pick a great base, add whatever I feel like. Some mornings that’s a bowl of potatoes, some days it’s muesli and fresh fruit. Don’t overthink it.

xx R

Leave a Reply

