Veganism? But I don’t even like tofu.

Now I’m going to pretend I didn’t hear that. I know that tofu may at first seem like a tasteless ball of slime, but there are things you need to understand before brushing yourself off as some sort of tofu-hating extremist.

Firstly, I need to ask you delicately what sort of tofu you have encountered. Did you gulp down some miso only to feel utterly violated when a bizarre tasteless slimy mass slid down your throat? You’re doing it wrong. The first thing you need to know about tofu is that there are many types of tofu, varying from silken to extra firm varieties.  The main categories broadly being simply, silken or firm. As somewhat of an old hand, I can assure you that beginners should never begin their tofu experience with the silken variety. You will almost definitely want to spit the damn thing out and protest in some defiant manner that you shall never be eating it again. No. One should always begin with the firm variety, and always with a familiar flavour, such as a teriyaki or tamari marinade. I guarantee you, that even the most timid beginner will love a good teriyaki tofu.You can accompany the dish with rice and vegetables, or simply pile it onto toast for a breakfast dish.

In any case, it would appear that I have wondered off topic.

So, you eat meat? Or are you a Pescatarian? Vegetarian?

Have no fear, I’ve got you covered.

Now, perhaps you’re the type of person that prefers a slower transition. If you’re that type of person then you might prefer to cut out ingredients one by one from your diet. This might especially be true if you’re starting this journey as a meat eater. I started as a Pescatarian. So, though it may not have been as difficult for me, I have always been the type of person to jump in head first rather than to dip my toes in the water. If you’re anything like me and need that extra push into the water, I’d check out these documentaries/speeches guaranteed to turn you vegan overnight.

So help me out. What do I do first?

So the first thing I did was to clear out my cupboards. But don’t let those chocolate blocks go to waste. If you for some strange reason can’t find some sort of dairy fanatic to give them to, I would recommend depleting your supplies of non-vegan food before you watch the documentaries and speeches mentioned above. Set a date to have them finished by, and in the meanwhile watch or educate yourself in a less confrontational manner, by say, looking at the meal suggestions I’m about to list, or watching YouTube videos such as the famous ‘What I Eat In A Day’ types to keep up that wonderful burst of motivation that lead you here.

Ok, ok. But I don’t like salad. Am I going to starve?

No. That’s the short answer. The other thing is, have you really tried salad? Because that generic green thing with bits of lettuce, tomato & cucumber is not salad. No-one likes that, and no-one thinks it’s funny, despite what those health pictures seem to suggest. But again, I can feel myself on the verge of another tangent so I shall cut myself short here. What I would suggest is this, don’t think of what you can’t have, but of new possibilities. Ever had ice cream for breakfast?

Welcome to my world.

If you’re keen to learn more about transitioning over to a more healthy, and compassionate lifestyle, feel free to skip the gander for lunch and instead take one around the blog.

Happy reading,

xx R

Leave a Reply

